Watch at 1:30: Colorado education and health departments talk about returning to school

AURORA, Colo. (KDVR) — Monday, July 20, marks eight years since 12 people were killed at an Aurora movie theater; US Representatives Ed Perlmutter (D-CO) and Jason Crow (D-CO) introduced a resolution last week to enact July 20, 2020 as National Heroes Day. 

The resolution would honor victims, first responders and specifically recognize four people killed while shielding others inside the theater: Jonathon Blunk, John Larimer, Matt McQuinn and Alex Teves.  It also recognizes every day heroes, particularly in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic.